DP Prompt ~ A little nostalgic

Standard

image

Back when I was a kid, I had a few Lego toys, Like train sets and this space station set. I guess my parents really wanted to nurture my creativity to build and experiment.

image

But! most of my interest ended up going towards the G.I Joe figurines like these above. What can I say? articulating molds were considered a very cool thing back then, not to mention the corny scripts the cartoon characters would say, which? I gotta admit really encouraged imagination.

image

One toy I never got and wanted really bad though? was the helicopter above, My cousin had it and I got so annoyed about how he used to rub it in my face, they didn’t come cheap either which really bugged me. I got over it though, when he dropped it one day and it broke good heh!! (insert evil smile here)

How about you? what was your favourite toy?

image

oh!! I almost forgot, anyone remember this? 😄😄

22 responses »

  1. Seeing these posts about toys. Wow, thank you, Andy. Yes, we had one of the water-thingies at the bottom and, I think, one of the thin, small ones that had like little tracks and balls inside. Also, several Rubick’s cube imitations (stacking chains, the Rubick’s cube, etc.). Oh, yes. I have to confess: I collect toys today, though I didn’t play with LEGOs back then. I am an inveterate collector, and always joke that I will retire on the proceeds from my childhood baseball card collection, though I honestly have nothing that’s too valuable. I played with the range of toys, but the gendered toys back then, in the 1970s and 1980s, were so much more fun to me, as was being outside to climb trees, kidnap (ducknap?) and carry around critters, run through fields, climb on horses, and just hike and traipse around. I had a great early childhood in that aspect. Thank you for bringing it back to me; you’ve given me a great big smile, even with your ‘evil grin’ at seeing your cousin’s helicopter break. Awesome post!

    • Yay!! I’m not alone on the pump toy! I used to spend HOURS on that toy only to get pissed when the air would blow out the ones I JUST landed lol! Legos have changed so much eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • LEGOs have definitely changed! Nope, I liked those water-pump toys, too. The one I most remember, I think ours was like a school-bus orange on the bottom, and maybe triangles on the inside or something. Wow, memories of long ago! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That Waterfall Ring-Toss is what I ALWAYS wanted but could only ever play with it at the toy store. In hindsight I probably played with it more though by not having it then if I’d actually been given it, lol! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. My sons were for G I jio of superman and spiderman. Every now and then they wanted money to expand their collection. I never liked playing with toys as such. Was an outdoor kind of child.

  4. My 8-yr-old gasped at the first shot. LOL. It’s just like what he’s building now. It’s apropos for me bc I just finished An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth as well as The Martian. You had cool parents. =)

Leave a Reply

