DP Prompt ~ Nostalgia 

Standard

  

What did I do back in the day before computers? simple really, Back in the late 70’s and early 80’s I learned to type with the old school typewriter, Yups! Ribbon and slap handle! you used to have to press down on those good! But, boy those were fun! not much got jammed either except for the occasional roller misbehaving.
Not long after that? I started writing journals, I still typed but not as much since journals had a much more intimate and personal feel to it. There’s nothing that compares to the feel of a pen touching paper. How about you? Any memories prior to the home pc’s? 🙂

22 responses »

  1. Before I leapt head-long into the digital world, I used to spend all my time watering plants, doing extra-credit homework, and was always ahead of class. I was kind of a goody two shoes back then but nowadays, we live in a world of extreme distraction due to all the tech.
    Anyways goood post 🙂

  2. I wrote my degree dissertation on a typewriter! Computers were around but I couldn’t afford one of those. Instead, I bought the typewriter in Germany so that I could do the work (the dissertation was in German) myself, rather than pay a typist. I wonder if there are still any typists around?

  3. Yep, I share some of those memories, Andy. I had a plastic kiddie typewriter, probably the early 80s, bright blue. But what I really remember . . . This was when there were computers, but my parents, sigh (enough said on that). Anyway, I had a hybrid typewriter/computer with a screen but traditional paper feeding. It was convenient. It got me through early college, and my roommate at the time had nothing, so she could use it, too. Years later, I bought a typewriter at a yard sale, but I don’t use it. We have several typewriters. I learned on a typewriter and a computer in a typewriter/computer fusion class, too. One of the luckiest things to have happened to me, ’cause I don’t know if I would have chosen that class on my own if it hadn’t been required.

Leave a Reply

